AMELIA MURRAY of FAZERDAZE – Song For Ewe

“SONG FOR EWE”
with AMELIA MURRAY of
FAZERDAZE

“SONG FOR EWE” is the feature where artists & music people beloved by VELVET SHEEP choose an obscure song they’ve been listening to that day. Today’s guest is a singer-songwriter who goes by the name Fazerdaze, she’s from New Zealand and has an beguiling debut album called “Morningside” coming on the uber-cool Flying Nun Records – home of The Chills, The Clean and VS fav Chris Knox. She’s also coming this way to play the UK including at Brighton’s Great Escape, it’s Amelia Murray!

Before we get Amelia’s choice, here’s the Chris Knox “song for ewe” – cos hell, why not…

CHRIS KNOX of TALL DWARFS – Song For Ewe

And here’s the video to Fazerdaze’s latest “Take It Slow”…

But without further ado, it’s over to Amelia to make our Fazer-day…

“What Did I Say Wrong by New Zealand songwriter Elliot Brown (and performed with Jackson Hobbs) is an obscure song, even in New Zealand. I truly adore it, and all of it’s beautiful, simple lyrics.

I especially enjoy this recording which is perfectly shambolic and rough. It feels like it will fall apart at any given moment which to me only underlines the strength of the songwriting. The chorus is just the one line rephrased in different ways, forming one big tumbling hook. It’s great, and I find myself revisiting this song a lot!”

CHEERS AMELIA AND LUCY HURST OF BUT I LIKE YOU PR

FULL TOUR DATES:
Fri 28 Apr – Leicester, UK – Handmade Festival
Sat 29 Apr – Leeds, UK – Live At Leeds
Sun 30 Apr – Manchester, UK – Sounds From The Other City
Mon 01 May – Glasgow, UK – The Hug & Pint
Wed 03 May – Bristol, UK – Louisiana
Thu 04 May – London, UK – Thousand Island
Fri 05 May – Bournemouth, UK – The Anvil
Sat 06 May – London, UK – Shacklewell Arms
Mon 08 May – London, UK – Rough Trade East [In-store]
Tue 09 May – London, UK – Bush Hall (Supporting We Are Scientists)
Thu 11 May – Amsterdam, NL – Sugar Factory (Supporting Happyness)
Fri 12 May – Ghent, BE – DOK (Supporting Happyness)
Wed 17 May – Bedford, UK – Esquires (Supporting the Parrots)
Thu 18 May – Brighton, UK – The Great Escape Festival
Fri 19 May – Hamburg – Cardinal Sessions Festival
Sat 20 May – Cologne – Cardinal Sessions Festival
Mon 22 May – Paris, FR – French Escape Festival
Fri 26 May – Amsterdam, NL – London Calling Festival
Sat 27 May – Neustrelitz, DE – Immergut Festival

https://www.facebook.com/fazerdazemusic/

Twitter

https://www.instagram.com/fazerdaze/

 

Author: Nick Hutchings

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment