ANNIKA HENDERSON of EXPLODED VIEW – Song For Ewe

“SONG FOR EWE”
with ANNIKA HENDERSON of
EXPLODED VIEW

Exploded View photo by EV

“SONG FOR EWE” is the feature where artists & music people beloved by VELVET SHEEP choose an obscure song they’ve been listening to that day. Today’s guest is from Wales, lives in Berlin and works with Mexico City based Hugo Quezada (Robota) and Crocodiles producer Martin Thulin in a transglobal, transcendental band called Exploded View whose otherworldly second album “Obey” is due out on the ever astute Sacred Bones label on 28th September. First song “Raven Raven” is Laurie Anderson meets Moon Duo while studying Aleister Crowley. Previously she’s worked with Geoff Barrow from Portishead with his band BEAK> (recording nine songs including a cover of Yoko Ono’s “Ying Yang”). Plus she’s worked with Dave Clarke and released solo records as Anika, and of course she’s a DJ, journalist and poet.  Welcome to Velvet Sheep, the chilling but thrilling Annika Henderson!

Having just recorded an intense and spooky studio record of pervasive mood, Annika has chosen a surprisingly lithe pop tune with some pure storytelling (but equal drama)…so without further ado, here’s her “song for ewe”…

“I love the song “Doodlin'” by Dusty Springfield (Lyrics by Jon Hendricks I believe) just because of it’s unexpected narrative. It’s a funny story that if you actually listen to the words, you get transported along the little mystery tale. I appreciate having mystery finds beneath the gloss of the outer shell. Dusty Springfield was a clever artist. She knew what songs served her best.

(Plus it’s on one of my favourite records of all time, Ev’rything’s Coming Up Dusty)”

THANKS TO ANNIKA AND TO FRANKIE DAVISON AT STEREO SANCTITY PR.

Pre-order “Obey” here… or here.

Exploded View are on a US tour this Autumn.

US tour:
Fri. Oct. 19 – Dallas, TX @ Nasher Sculpture
Sat. Oct. 20 – Austin, TX @ The Parish
Mon. Oct. 22 – Phoenix, AZ @ Club Congress
Wed. Oct. 24 – San Diego, CA @ The Whistle Stop
Thu. Oct. 25 – Pomona, CA @ The Glass House
Fri. Oct. 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sun. Oct. 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Mon. Oct. 29 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studio
Tue. Oct. 30 – Seattle, WA @ Vera Project
Wed. Oct. 31 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret
Thu. Nov. 1 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Fri. Nov. 2 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxxx Fluxxx
Sat. Nov. 3 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Mon. Nov. 5 – Montreal, QC @ Sala Rossa
Tue. Nov. 6 – Boston, MA @ Middle East
Thu. Nov. 8 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Fri. Nov. 9 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilMOCA
Sat. Nov. 10 – Norfolk, VA @ Charlies American Cafe
Sun. Nov. 11 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Mon. Nov. 12 – Harrisburg, PA @ The Cathedral Room

SOCIAL MEDIA BIZNESS BELOW:

explodedviewband

https://www.facebook.com/explodedviewband/

Author: Nick Hutchings

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment