On the Velvet Sheep radio show, I play the best tunes picked as part of the fanzine’s “song for ewe” feature where favourite artistes old and new choose an obscure-ish song they’ve enjoyed lately.

With no rules on genre or era, the songs range from psychobilly freakouts to psychedelic workouts, rare doo-wop to classic punk rock, pastoral to choral and extreme noise terror to elegant ambient soundscapes.

This week’s dastardly and motley crue include “songs for ewe” from:

Beth Arzy (Jetstream Pony)
The Coathangers
Fliss Kitson (The Nightingales)
Eileen Gogan (Dimple Discs)

Plus new tunes from Md After Hussain, Soft-Bodied Humans x Swordman Kitala, Oren Ambarchi / Johan Berthling / Andreas Werliin, Nik Colk Void & Horace Andy…

Here’s the playlist in full:

  1. JON SPENCER & the HITmakers – Junk Man
  2. The William Loveday Intention – Pocahontas Was Her Name
  3. Jetstream Pony – Strood McD F.C.
  4. Richard Youngs – Collapsing Stars
  5. The Coathangers – Parasite
  6. The Detroit Cobras – Cha Cha Twist
  7. Sleater-Kinney – Gimme Love
  8. KAINA – Casita
  9. Willie Colón & Rubén Blades – Plástico
  10. Mos Def – Quiet Dog
  11. Soft-Bodied Humans x Swordman Kitala – Bagan
  12. Md After Hussain and Paq – My Soul Is A Bird In The Cage of Earth
  13. Can – Brighton 75 Drei
  14. Oren Ambarchi / Johan Berthling / Andreas Werliin – IV
  15. Nik Colk Void – Interruption Is Good
  16. LFO – Nurture (SURGEON Remix)
  17. The Nightingales – Surgeon Irreverent Mix
  18. Japanese Television – Crocodile Dentist
  19. Bitch – Hello Meadow
  20. The Runaways – Cherry Bomb
  21. KEELEY – The Glitter & The Glue (Tipler Remix)
  22. Eileen Gogan with Sean O’Hagan – Wheels (Happy Cycling)
  23. Boozoo Chavis – Johnnie Billie Goat
  24. Crippled Black Phoenix & Cypress Grove feat. Mark Lanegan & Bertrand Cantat – Constant Limbo (Constant Rain)
  25. Horace Andy – This Must Be Hell
  26. Joe Strummer – Without People You’re Nothing
  27. Joe Strummer – Willesden To Cricklewood